Skip to main content

2022-23 Council Members

Peter A. Schwartz, MD is chair of the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs (CEJA). For 25 years, Dr Schwartz was chair and residency program director at Tower Health System in Reading, Pennsylvania. He serves on the boards of Frontier Nursing University and SorryWorks. He has helped to create a code of medical ethics in Ethiopia, continues to teach medical students, and has launched a graduate medical education medical humanities curriculum. 

David A. Fleming, MD, MA is vice chair of the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs. Dr Fleming is professor emeritus of medicine and was chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of Missouri School of Medicine in Columbia, where he is also founding director of the Center for Health Ethics. He is a past president of the American College of Physicians and served on the Board of Regents for the National Institutes of Health - National Library of Medicine.

Jeremy A. Lazarus, MD is a clinical professor of psychiatry at the University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine. Dr Lazarus is a former speaker and president of the American Medical Association and past president of the Colorado Medical Society.  He also serves as the second vice president of the Defense Health Board.

Rebecca W. Brendel, JD, MD is an associate professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, where she is associate director of and director of the Master’s Degree Program at the Center for Bioethics.  Dr Brendel bases her clinical work at Massachusetts General Hospital and focuses on challenges arising at the intersection of psychiatry, medicine, ethics, law, and human rights. 

Larry E. Reaves, MD is a plastic and reconstructive surgeon at Cook Children's Medical Center in Fort Worth, Texas. Prior to joining CEJA, Dr Reaves served as a delegate representing the Texas Medical Association in the AMA House of Delegates. 

Daniel P. Sulmasy, MD, PhD is the André Hellegers Professor of Biomedical Ethics in the Departments of Medicine and Philosophy and serves as director of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics at Georgetown University. A practicing internist and a philosopher, Dr Sulmasy is editor of Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics and has written extensively on many topics in bioethics, especially regarding care at the end of life. His seven books include Methods in Medical EthicsThe Rebirth of the Clinic, and Physician-Assisted Suicide and Euthanasia: Before, During, and After the Holocaust.

Michael G. Knight, MD, MHSP is an assistant professor of medicine at The George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences. Dr Knight is the associate chief quality and population health officer, head of healthcare delivery transformation, and medical director of community primary care at The George Washington Medical Faculty Associates where he directs the development, implementation, and maintenance of quality and patient safety initiatives and the utilization of ethical standards to guide clinician performance at the individual and organizational level. 

Danish M. Zaidi, MD, MTS, MBE is a resident physician in internal medicine at Yale-New Haven Hospital. He has published on topics including transplant ethics, scarce resource allocation, and medical education in leading journals like HeartAcademic Medicine, and the American Journal of Bioethics. Dr Zaidi was a former board member of the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities and a theme issue editor of the AMA Journal of Ethics

Kelsey C. Mumford is a MD/MPA student at Dell Medical School and the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at Austin where she also graduated with bachelor degrees in nursing and in biology. Ms Mumford is currently completing a research year at the National Institutes of Health's Department of Bioethics and the Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology Laboratory in the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.



Audiey C. Kao, MD, PhD is vice president of ethics.

Elliott J. Crigger, PhD is director, ethics policy and CEJA secretary.

Scott J. Schweikart, JD, MBE is a senior policy analyst.

Lisa L. Fuller, PhD, MA is a senior policy analyst.

Jake Young, PhD, MFA, MPH is a senior policy analyst.

Thomas M. Wagner is CEJA coordinator.